Buy The Other World’s Books Depend on the Bean Counter, Vol 1 light novel if you love an aggressive seme and a compliant uke

Re-read the story of Aresh and Seiichirou in novel form

With The Other World’s Books Depend on the Bean Counter manga series being so successful, it is hardly surprising we are getting the light novel series translated into English as well.

Advertisements

And none too seen either, in my opinion.

The Other World’s Books Depend on the Bean Counter, Volume 1 light novel is due out via Yen Press on February 20th, 2024, and will tell the same manga story but in novel form.

That story, of course, is a fantasy Boys’ Love romance that follows 29-year-old accountant Seiichirou Kondou as he suddenly finds himself transported to another world.

Being the workaholic that he is, however, instead of lounging around Seiichirou demands a job and is soon working in the Royal Accounting offices where he sets to work to improve the way they do things.

But when he works so hard he finds himself needing a special nutritional tonic in order to keep up, a tonic that almost kills him, it is up to Commander Aresh to save him with a “treatment” that requires a physical relationship to develop between the two men in order to cure the magic sickness Seiichirou is now experiencing.

Thus begins the Boy’s Love relationship between handsome but aggressive Aresh, and the more compliant but very smart Seiichirou.

The Other World’s Books Depend on the Bean Counter manga series already out in English

Interestingly, while the The Other World’s Books Depend on the Bean Counter light novel series written by Yatsuki Wakatsu, and with character designs by Kikka Ohashi, was the first version of the story released in Japan, in the west we got its manga spin-off first.

Now with The Other World’s Books Depend on the Bean Counter, Volume 1 of the light novel series on its way, fans of the manga can relive the story but in much more depth.

The 288 page Volume 1 of the The Other World’s Books Depend on the Bean Counter is due out via Yen Press on February 20th, and is available for pre-order on all the usual platforms via the publisher now.

If you have not read the manga spin-off of the light novel series yet, you can also read the first three volumes of that via Yen Press, and pre-order Volume 4 which is due out in March.

If you are a Boys’ Love fan who likes a forceful seme (Aresh) and a compliant but still quite independent uke (Kondou), with a story set in an intricately-built Isekai world, and with interesting supporting characters who get just as much page time as do the main male couple, chances are you will enjoy this one immensely.

The art style is gorgeous too!