How Many Countries are Participating in Eurovision 2016?

43 #participants #Eurovision #2016 #Stockholm #EBU #svt

A photo posted by Eurovision Song Contest (@eurovision) on


Today, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) released the list of every country that will be participating in Eurovision 2016 in Stockholm. How many countries is it?


According to the EBU, it’s one of the largest number of countries to compete in Eurovision in years, and equals the record set in 2008 and 2011. The total number? 43

So, which 43 countries will participate in Eurovision 2016? Here they are.

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom

How much are tickets for Eurovision 2016 in Stockholm?

The two countries I’m the most excited about being in Eurovision 2016? Australia, for its first ever ‘real participation’, meaning it has to go through the semi finals this year just like everyone else except the Big 5 and host Sweden, and Ukraine, which is back after only one year absence due to political instability and the resulting financial problems, and which always enters beautiful songs. How about you?

Now all we have to wait for is to find out which artists will represent each country, and hear the songs they’re going to sing.

Stay tuned, as I’ll be writing about each artist and song as they are announced. I can’t wait.