Park Hae Jin, Park Sung Woong, Lim Ji Yeon starring in National Death Penalty Vote – new SBS thriller out in 2023

According to Joy News 24, South Korean actors Park Hae Jin, Park Sung Woong, and Lim Ji Yeon have just been announced as the leads in the thriller mystery National Death Penalty Vote, an upcoming K-drama directed by Park Shin Woo (White Night).


The SBS drama has been adapted from the hit webtoon Gukminsahyeongtupyo (aka 국민사형투표 in Korean), which was written by Um Se Yoon and illustrated by Jung Yi Pum, and has had around 130 million views.

The National Death Penalty Vote plot follows what happens after a national death penalty vote wins, how it is carried out against the most serious of offenders, and how the police pursue that kind of justice.

Park Hae Jin will play the role of Kim Moo Chan, the head of a regional police investigation unit, while Park Sung Woong is Kwon Seok Joo, a former legal scholar, but now a man who has been serving his time in prison after turning himself in for the murder of the man who raped his eight-year-old daughter.

As for Lim Ji Yeon, she has accepted the role of Joo Hyun, a police officer who was once a highly-regarded specialist at Seoul’s Cyber Security Bureau but, after an incident in which she was involved, is now thought of as a disgrace.

The drama was penned by Jo Yoon Young (Save the Last Dance for Me), and will be her first screenplay since the 2016 hit historical drama Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo.

National Death Penalty Vote is Park Hae Jin’s first announced drama since he signed with his new agency Artist Company earlier this year, while Park Sung Woong is also starring in Bloodhounds in 2023.

Lim Ji Yeon is currently the busiest of the three next year so far, as she is also filming A House with a Yard, and The Glory Season 2.

National Death Penalty Vote is scheduled to premiere some time in 2023. We’ll keep you posted as we find out more, as this one sounds like an interesting one.

Michelle Topham