Listen to Surfaces’ ‘Stay’ from New Amsterdam, Season 4, Episode 7 — cool, calypso-laced electro pop

Photo: Heidi Gutman/NBC

American indie soul, pop, jazz duo Surfaces’ ‘Stay‘ was one of the songs played on the soundtrack of New Amsterdam last night — New Amsterdam, Season 4, Episode 7, “Harmony“.

The track was heard as Lyn, Floyd and Claude are having that very uncomfortable breakfast together.

Surfaces’ ‘Stay‘ is from the duo’s debut studio album Surf, which was self-released in 2017 soon after Surfaces was founded.

Surfaces, by the way is Colin and Alexa Padalecki — Texas-based cousins who realized they had the same taste in music, and decided to start a music group together.

Since then, the pair has released four studio albums.

The duo’s latest album Pacifico was released earlier this year via the Ten Thousand Projects and Caroline record labels.

As for Surfaces’ ‘Stay‘, that track was never released as a single but, along with other music from the duo, the upbeat calypso-laced electro pop song has received quite a bit of attention from music supervisors nevertheless.

In just the last year alone, Surfaces has had their music licensed for play on shows like Legacies, Ted Lasso, A Million Little Things and God Friended Me.

Not bad for a couple of indie artists from Texas.

Listen to Surfaces’ ‘Stay‘ as heard on New Amsterdam this week in both the video and on the duo’s debut studio album Surf.


About Michelle Topham

Brit-American journalist based in Austria, former radio DJ at 97X WOXY, and Founder/CEO of Leo Sigh. I've covered K-drama, K-pop, J-pop and music news for over a decade.